UPM Debate Team Wins Akinabalu Debate Competition 2019 | Universiti Putra Malaysia
» NEWS » UPM debate team wins Akinabalu Debate Competition 2019

UPM debate team wins Akinabalu Debate Competition 2019

By: Dr. Sharil Nizam Sha’ri

BANGI – UPM debate team won the Akinabalu Debate Competition 2019, while its debater Nurul Syamimi Zulkafle, was chosen as the Best Debater at the competition held at the Art Theatre (Panggung Seni) Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

The UPM debate team was made up of Ahmad Firdaus Mul, Bachelor of Art (Malay Literature) student; Ahmad Alfhikrey Ahmad Japar, Bachelor of Art (Malay Linguistics) student; Nurul Syamimi Zulkafle (Faculty of Human Ecology); and Nurdiana Sineng (Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences).

They received a cash prize of RM2,500 and a trophy, while Best Debater, Nurul Syamimi received RM300. The prizes were presented by Ariffin Asgali, Assistant Minister to the Sabah Chief Minister representing the Sabah Chief Minister. The competition was organised by the UKM Sabah Student Association.

UPM debaters were guided and trained under the Malay Language Debate Club, UPM Student Affairs Division.

Other teams who also took part in the competition were Universiti Malaya, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris and Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia. - UPM

Date of Input: 11/04/2019 | Updated: 11/04/2019 | hairul_nizam


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
+603-9769 1000