| Universiti Putra Malaysia

UPM crowned champion and best debater in Nuclear Debate 2022

By: Nurul Ezzaty Mohd Azhari
Photo: Noor Azreen Awang


BANGI, June 30 - The Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) debate team has been crowned the champion of the Nuclear Debate Competition 2022 and won the best debater in the final stage of the competition.

They defeated six teams of debaters from public higher education institutions (IPTA) nationwide through a competition that started on June 28 at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

In the final round of the competition, the UPM team as the government met with the team from Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) as the opposition with the debate proposal ‘Bebas Karbon 2050: Sudah Tiba Masanya Malaysia Mengimplimentasikan Loji Jana Kuasa Nuklear’ (Carbon Free 2050: It's Time for Malaysia to Implement Nuclear Power Plants).

UPM was represented by four debaters, namely Nur Ain Aqilah Rosli, Bachelor of Statistics Science with Education, Faculty of Science, Muhammad Hakim Nor Zamani, Bachelor of Biomedical Science, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Iskandar Zikry Zakaria, Bachelor of Guidance and Counselling Education, Faculty of Educational Studies and a reserve debater, Muhammad Alif Mohd Roaim, Bachelor of Science in Physics with Education, Faculty of Science, and received a rolling trophy, RM3,000 cash prizes and a certificate of achievement.

The runner-up was USIM which received RM2,000 cash prizes and a certificate of achievement.

Meanwhile, the best debater award was won by Nur Ain Aqilah, who bagged an award plaque and a winner certificate.

She said her success was a starting point for herself and the UPM Malay Language Debate Club (KDBM Putra) to continue making a name in the world of public speaking.

"I am very grateful for receiving this award after so long I have tried to strengthen the debate style. Apart from that, UPM has also been resting for a long time to win any debate competition,” she said.

Also present were the Director-General of the Atomic Energy Licensing Board (AELB), Raja Abdul Aziz Raja Adnan, the Deputy Director-General of the Atomic Energy Licensing Board (AELB), Noraishah Pungut, and the Director of the Information Management Division of the Malaysian Nuclear Agency, Habibah Adnan. - UPM