| Universiti Putra Malaysia

662 UPM staff receives Gemilang Putra Awards 2023

By: Nurul Ezzaty Mohd Azhari
Photo: Mozaid Idris

SERDANG, July 20 – A total of 662 staff from Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) received the Gemilang Putra Awards 2023 at the UPM Gemilang Putra (MGP) Ceremony here today.

The MGP is a ceremony to show appreciation and recognition for UPM academic and non-academic staff who have excelled in innovation and creativity in teaching, research and innovation, professional services, article publications, and outstanding consultation for the university and the country.

UPM Vice Chancellor, Dato' Prof. Dr. Mohd Roslan Sulaiman, said the university needs knowledgeable human resources, who possess relevant core skills, think strategically, creatively, and critically to remain relevant with the passage of time and the university's performance.

"This is where the university, as a Tower of Knowledge (Menara Ilmu), translates the core values ​​of Malaysia MADANI in helping the government and society through knowledge-sharing initiatives.

"The enrichment of creative and innovative ideas in work enhances the quality and productivity of the organisation, and this includes changes in the systems and procedures, methods and ways of working, and use of technology," he said.

Meanwhile, UPM Registrar, Muhazam Mansor, said the recognition and awards received by MGP recipients need to be translated into action.

"We must always deliver the best services. Clients expect the best and beyond expectations, so we have no choice but to provide high-quality services within the stipulated time," he said.

The MGP 2023 is a combination of two main events, the Majlis Gemilang Putra and the Majlis Gemilang Putra Akademia, which were previously held separately.

During the ceremony, a total of eight individuals received the Jasamu Dikenang Award, 112 individuals received the Putra Jasa Award, 531 individuals received the Excellent Service Award and 11 individuals received the Putra Sanjungan Award.

The Vice Chancellor's Fellowship Awards (AFNC) were awarded to UPM academics who have shown excellence in specific fields according to the set criteria.

Prof. Dr. Mohd Rafii Yusop from the Faculty of Agriculture/ Institute of Tropical Agriculture and Food Security received the Putra Academia Special Award 2022. 

The Outstanding Educator in the Pure Science category was awarded to Assoc. Prof. Dr. Noor Baity Saidi from the Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, and the Arts and Social Sciences category was awarded to Dr. Amir Hamzah Sharaai from the Faculty of Forestry and Environment.

The Young Educator for the Applied Sciences category was awarded to Ts. Dr. Nurul Amelina Nasharuddin from the Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology, and for the Engineering category, the award went to Dr. Nabilah Abu Bakar from the Faculty of Engineering.

For the Research and Innovation category, the Outstanding Researcher in the Science and Technology award was awarded to Prof. CHM. Dr. Mohd Basyaruddin Abdul Rahman from the Faculty of Science, and the award for the Outstanding Researcher in the Social Science category was awarded to Prof. Dr. Mohamad Fazli Sabri from the Faculty of Human Ecology.

Prof. Dr. Ahmad Zaharin Aris from the Faculty of Forestry and Environment/ International Institute of Aquaculture and Aquatic Science received the Publication of Science and Technology Journal Articles award.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Salmah Jan Noor received the award for the Book Publishing category, while Dr. Hani Salwah Yaakup from the Faculty of Modern Languages ​​and Communication received the award for the Creative Arts category.

The Student Development category was awarded to Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mass Hareeza Ali from the Centre of Entrepreneurial Development and Graduate Marketability (CEM).

Prof. Datin Dr. Rozi Mahmud from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences received the award for the Management and Professional (Academic) category, Fahmi Azar Mistar from the Alumni Relations Centre received the award for the Management and Professional category, and Mohd Rosman Jamaludin from Putra Agricultural Centre received the award for the Administrator category.

For the category of Outstanding Consultant, Prof. Dr. Ahmad Hariza Hashim from the Faculty of Human Ecology received the award - UPM