Iqbal Saripan Triumphs At National Young Scientist Award 2013 | Universiti Putra Malaysia
» NEWS » Iqbal Saripan triumphs at National Young Scientist Award 2013

Iqbal Saripan triumphs at National Young Scientist Award 2013

By Hafliza Hussin

Exuberant Dr. Iqbal proudly flaunts the mock cheque of RM20,000 and plaque.

KUALA LUMPUR , 14 November 2013 - Assoc. Prof. Dr. Iqbal Saripan has been crowned as the 2013 champion in the National Young Scientist Award category after outdoing two other finalists, both from Universiti Malaysia Perlis and Universiti Malaya at Kuala Lumpur World Innovation Forum 2013 (WIF -KL) gala dinner and awards ceremony.

Dr. Saripan Iqbal, 33, who is currently heading the Department of Computer and Communication Systems Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, focuses his researches in signal processing/digital images, medical imaging, biomedical engineering and audio and video processing.

He bagged a prize of RM20,000, a trophy and certificate at the ceremony which is annually organized by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) and Malaysian Innovation Foundation (YIM).

Dr. Iqbal with YB Datuk Dr. Ewon Ebin, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (left) dan YBhg. Dato' Dr. Rosli Mohamed, MOSTI Secretary General (right), during the awards presentation.

Iqbal managed to discover a method to detect early-stage cancer cells using nuclear imaging, known as Wired Network Collimator, and his innovation, Early Breast Cancer Detection Using Wire Mesh Collimator Gamma Camera (Nuclear Imaging), is able to detect the size of cancer as small as one millimeter, also a modified collimator; a device concocted to subdue radiation effects on cancer patients during treatment.

National Young Scientist Award recognizes the efforts and significant achievements of young scientists involving in scientific R&D, technology and innovation and it is aimed to bring about encouragement among local young scientists, provide them incentives to further explore new frontiers hence contribute to the world of science and technology.

Among other awards that were also presented at the event were SME's Innovate Award, AIM Innovation Business Award, National Technologists and the National Innovation Awards.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ahmad Husni Mohd Hanif from Faculty of Agriculture, another UPM reasearcher, was selected among 10 finalists for the National Innovation Awards in the products category.

Date of Input: | Updated: | hairul_nizam


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
+603-9769 1000